Mississauga announces 2021 Urban Design Awards

Subscribe to the OCN Daily Newsletter!

Receive a free update of the latest Ontario Construction News each morning

Ontario Construction News staff writer

Winners of the 2021 Mississauga Urban Design Awards were announced last week.

“On behalf of the City of Mississauga, I would like to congratulate the winners of the 2021 Mississauga Urban Design Awards,” said Mayor Bonnie Crombie.

“The awards are a great opportunity to recognize the designers, architects, developers and builders who have played a critical role in our efforts to build a world-class city. These private and public spaces beautify our city and provide much needed green spaces, public art and facilities for businesses and residents to enjoy.”

The Urban Design Awards started in 1981 to inspire and celebrate design leaders who help raise the quality of life for residents by shaping Mississauga’s diverse cityscape.

This year, there are 13 winners—including three People’s Choice Award winners—that exemplify the theme of the Identity of Urban Places. These winners also showcase some of the very best public and private urban spaces that Mississauga has to offer.

A jury of members from the design community and Ward 2 Councillor Karen Ras from the City of Mississauga selected the winners.

“The Mississauga Urban Design Awards is the longest-running awards program of its kind in Ontario,” said Andrew Whittemore, commissioner of planning and building.

“This year we are honoured to recognize these talented award-winners, who have all contributed to the unique identity and distinct character of Mississauga. I’d also like to thank the jury members for volunteering their time and expertise to help us recognize urban design excellence in Mississauga.”

Awards of Excellence

Lakeview Village Public Art Program
Owner: Lakeview Community Partners Ltd.
Consultants: NAK Design Strategies, Artscape

Waterside Executive Centre
Owner: Centre City Capital Ltd.
Consultants: Adamson Associates Architects, Baker Turner Inc.

Awards of Merit

Oak Park House
Owner: Irene Gankevitch
Consultants: Richard Mann, Stephen Shelton

Pine Sanctuary
Owner: City of Mississauga
Artist: Marc Fornes / Theverymany

The Spark
Owner: City of Mississauga
Consultants: Nathan Whitford / Urban Visual

The Huron
Owner: Starlight Property Group Holdings Ltd.
Consultants: Architecture Unfolded Inc., Baker Turner Inc.

Chartwell Retirement Residences Headquarters
Owner: Chartwell Master Care LP
Consultants: Sweeny&Co Architects Inc., NAK Design Strategies

Blum Canada
Owner: Blum Canada Ltd.
Consultants: ADG, Landscape Planning Ltd.

Nine Creeks Trail P-534
Owner: City of Mississauga
Consultant: Harrington McAvan Ltd.

Maanjiwe nendamowinan University of Toronto Mississauga
Owner: University of Toronto Mississauga
Consultants: Perkins&Will, Fleisher Ridout Partnership


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.