Three Ontario construction industry leaders to serve as 2022-23 CCA directors

cca notices

Ontario Construction News staff writer

Three Ontario construction association/industry leaders will serve as Canadian Construction Association (CCA) directors for the 2022-23 term.

David Bowcott, Wayne Ferguson and John Mollenhauer will serve on the 20-member board, to be chaired by Brendon Nobes, director of major projects for RCS Construction, an Atlantic Canada general contractor.

David Bowcott
David Bowcott

Bowcott is global director, Growth, Innovation, and Insight with Aon’s Global Construction and Infrastructure Group (GCIG), while Ferguson is senior vice-president and area manager, Ottawa, at EllisDon. John Mollenhauer is president and CEO of the Toronto Construction Association.

In a statement, the CCA says Nobes is a 35-year veteran of the construction industry who has worked as a site superintendent, senior estimator, senior project manager and project manager representing the owner.

John Mollenhauer
John Mollenhauer

“Working at all levels in construction – from design review and document preparation to scheduling, budgeting, cost forecasting and tender package preparation – Nobes has adopted a ‘cradle to grave’ approach to construction management,” the statement says.

The Mount Allison University graduate and Gold Seal Certified project manager and estimator is active in several industry associations. He is CCA’s representative to the Canadian Construction Documents Committee. He is also past chair of the Construction Association of Nova Scotia.

Wayne Ferguson
Wayne Ferguson

Nobes was also the 2017 recipient of the CCA Robert Saunders Trophy for his commitment and dedication to the industry, particularly to the general contractors’ sector.

In his address to members at CCA’s Annual General Meeting last Tuesday (March 8), Nobes articulated his focus for the association over the next year.

“I know the last two years have tested us all and presented us with great uncertainty, but it truly feels like a tide is turning for the better,” he said. “This is the year to capitalize on the advancements made in technology, make our corporate cultures more inclusive, and put Canada on the path to green.”

In addition to delivering a refreshed strategic plan, Nobes looks forward to advancing three initiatives during his tenure including expanding CCA’s engagement with members, in person in their hometowns; launching new services to elevate best practices in project delivery; and strengthening the bonds between CCA and its partner associations.

Other 2022-23 CCA directors are:

  • Charles Caza (1st vice-chair), Ontario – Central Canada
  • Francis Roy (2nd vice-chair), Quebec – Central Canada
  • Jean François Arbour, Quebec – Central Canada
  • Andrew Arnill, Alberta – Western Canada
  • Nicole Chabot, Manitoba – Western Canada
  • Leslie Doka, Saskatchewan – Western Canada
  • Trevor Doucette, Alberta – Western Canada
  • Steve Drummond, British Columbia – Western Canada
  • Nadine Fullarton, New Brunswick – Eastern Canada
  • Eric Gaulin, Quebec – Central Canada
  • Peter Grose, Manitoba – Western Canada
  • Quentin Huillery, Alberta – Western Canada
  • Branden Kotyk, British Columbia – Western Canada
  • Patrick Lafrenière, Newfoundland and Labrador – Eastern Canada
  • Cory Richter, Saskatchewan – Western Canada
  • Brad Scott, Nova Scotia – Eastern Canada


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.