CSLA announces 2021 Awards of Excellence winners

Brampton's winning entry
Brampton's winning project

Ontario Construction News staff writer

Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) recently announced the recipients of the 2021 Awards of Excellence.

This year, 14 projects received a national award.

Dale Hodges Park, by O2 Planning & Design and Source 2 Source Inc. with AECOM and Sans façon for Watershed+, in Calgary, Alberta, was selected to receive the Jury’s Award of Excellence, which is given to one project annually which best demonstrates the CSLA’s vision — advancing the art, science, and practice of landscape architecture.

These award-winning projects are preeminent examples of Canadian landscape architecture. They illustrate the range of what landscape architects do and how landscape architects are helping to reshape our communities by defining the places where we live, work and play.

“The award-winning projects highlight new approaches and illustrate the levels of expertise to be mobilized to address current social, cultural and environmental challenges,” said Bernard St-Denis, chair of the 2021 Awards of Excellence jury

Winners were selected by a national jury of landscape architects. A total of 72 submissions were received. Criteria applied by the jurors included:

  • demonstration of a deep understanding of the craft of landscape architecture and attention to composition and detail
  • demonstration of excellence in leadership, project management, breadth of work, new directions, or new technology
  • innovation in concept, process, materials, or implementation
  • promotion of the discipline amongst related professions, clients, and the general public,
  • demonstration of exemplary environmental and/or social awareness.

National Awards are for work that demonstrate excellence against all judging criteria. These projects are nominated for the Jury’s Award of Excellence, which is given to the project which best demonstrates the CSLA’s vision (advancing the art, science, and practice of landscape architecture).

Awards will be presented during a virtual celebration to be held during the CSLA-OALA Congress on May 29.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.